Need help with female Mandarin names

So, as some of you probably have noticed, I studied Chinese for a while, and as part of that, I was given a Chinese name by my teachers. Even though I don’t really study it any more, I am fond of the name, and have a soapstone stamp that I use as a seal when I send personal letters and greeting cards to folks.

So, my wife and I have decided it would make a bit of a fun family tradition to keep giving Chinese names to new members and having stamps made for them. Thus far, our family is still pretty much the two of us, so this pretty much means I’m trying to come up with a name for her.

Even though we’re both about as Chinese as Mel Brooks, we do want to try and avoid coming up with the Chinese equivalent of “Ford Prefect” or something similarly goofy sounding, on the off chance that we meet somebody who might actually care. :smiley:

She was thinking of “Ai Lin” as it sounds vaguely like her own surname (and as a bonus, her first name starts with the same syllable that is used for my surname in Chinese). The characters she had in mind for it would be the ones for “Love” and “Fine Jade”, though if that fails, I figure the character for “Forest” should work for a first name.

We’re also toying with calling her “Huohua” (fire flower) as a direct reference to her personality, though I don’t know if it works at all as a name in Chinese.

We’re not planning to use this for any kind of official correspondence, it’s pretty much just for informal usage with friends and family.

I know some Mandarin and I’m a native Cantonese speaker…

I think Ai Lin/愛琳 should be a decent female name. Actually, I was not familiar with the character 琳 without looking it up first, but that’s not unusual with names. You might want to wait for confirmation from others with more Mandarin knowledge, though.

Absolutely do not go with ‘Huohua’. That doesn’t work well at all as a name and sounds quite silly.