New cars come without spare tire? WTF?!

I had a rental car for business use this week, a 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix.

I was looking through the manual trying to find out what something meant on the information center, when I came across a section that said:

"Your new Pontiac does not come with a spare tire. Instead there is an electric air pump in the trunk which plugs into the power outlet"

I looked into the trunk and sure enough: No spare!

I’ve been driving for well over 30 years. Almost every time I’ve had a flat tire it was a case where the tire couldn’t be pumped up (punture, broken valve, etc.).
Having a pump when the tire has a hole in it is about as much value as a box of bullets and a broken gun.

It’s been 3 years since I bought a new car (also a GM) and it came with a spare tire. What the hell is the deal with this shit?:confused::eek:

Does it at least have a well for a tire? I wouldn’t be surprised of any cheapness on GM’s part, I suppose that will be something people should check better when they buy new cars. Compact spares are bad enough.

My mother (in the UK) has a Mini Cooper. It has what they call “run flat” tyres - you can drive on them when they are flat. Well, if one is flat, I doubt it would work if they were all flat.

Trouble is that they apparently can’t be repaired, only replaced. And they sure as hell are expensive.

No, it doesn’t. After posting the OP I went out and got the manual out of the glove box (I have this car until Monday). Here is the exact wording (emphasis mine):

“GXP models have no spare tire, no tire changing equipment, and no place for storing a spare or flat tire”

It appears, per the manual, that only the base model has no spare.
But so what? Back in the 80’s I had a Yugo (yes, I really did :rolleyes: ) and it had a spare tire/kit. Aren’t even the base model Grand Prixs still in the lower 20K price wise?
And they don’t even have a mini spare? Bullshit!

So complain to the rental company and vote with your dollars.