New York City in Aug/Sept, what to do

I am going to be in New York for about 3 weeks from end Aug to mid September. I have not been there for years, so I wonder what I could see, which is ideally a bit (but not too much) off the beaten track.

On Broadway, there are a couple of shows I have heard good things about, Kinky Boots is one. Getting a ticket would be difficult? What about the US Open…IIRC its in Queens? Would it even be advisable? I have had some bad experiences at Wimbledon, with the crowds and facilities.

Katz’s Deli, pastrami sandwich. Directly from the airport, if possible.

Go see The Colbert Show. There’s a line, so get there early.

Colbert tapings are fun, but it’s hard to get tickets. They’re booked up for months ahead of time. You will probably have better luck with Broadway shows. For most of them it’s not that hard to get tickets for performances in a few weeks and there are also options for getting tickets the day of the performance.

The U.S. Open is a great experience, and yes, it’s in Flushing, Queens. It’s crowded and the food (while good) is expensive, but I go every year. It can be very affordable if you go to an early date in the tournament and get a grounds pass instead of going to the big stadium, and wandering from court to court is a lot of fun.

The thing to do with Colbert is to keep checking back on the website for cancellations, which happen all the time. We got tickets the day before the taping that way. Also, stop at an REI and pick up one of those three-legged camp chairs for $20. Unless you like sitting on concrete or standing for 2-3 hours. They won’t take them away from you at the door, either.

You could look really suspicious and have a NYC cop do a stop and frisk – but only if you aren’t carrying something you shouldn’t. If you have someone going with you you could have them record it, or at least get a picture suitable for framing. :slight_smile: