NHL Trade Machine

At ESPN.com there’s a NBA Trade Machine, but no NHL Trade Machine. Is it the difference in cap rules? Or is it the lack of hockey fans relative to hoops fans? My guess is the latter. BTW, what are the NHL FA and cap rules? I know that one category involves the ages of the player, regardless of experience.

Why did the cap jump so much (relative to other increases) for the 2007-'08 season?

I would think it’s a perceived lack of interest in hockey by the guys at ESPN; trade talk, cap speculation and free agency signings are talked about pretty heavily on Canadian sports news sites like TSN.ca, CBC.ca, etc.

Here’s a pretty good summary of the current cap rules in the NHL. I don’t really think there are many issues with regards to trading; either a trade keeps you under the cap (and over the floor) or it doesn’t, but I’m not really an expert on this. A trade results in the new team owning the entire contract for a player; duration, cap hit, etc.

There are two types of free agents: restricted and unrestricted. These refer to how the existing team can choose to handle them at the end of their contracts. Players can become unrestricted free agents at the age of 27, or 7 years in the NHL whichever comes first. Here’s another good summary.

As for the rise in the cap in 07-08, it’s a function of the league’s hockey-related revenue; the players (cap) get 54% of the total revenue, so 06-07 must have been a good year. The cap has gone up by a few million every year since the lockout; it’s projected to go up to about 61-63 million this year, from what I’ve heard.