"No caffeine" headaches are different from other headaches

When I was a senior in college, I worked as a gopher in the engineering college. My most important job was to make coffee and keep it going until my four hour shift ended.

I wasn’t much of a coffee drinker, but because I was the one making it, I figured I should at least try it. Soon I was drinking two or three cups every morning.

One Saturday morning I slept in and woke up with an awful hangover. Except…I hadn’t been drinking. And it happened again the following Saturday. And the next. And then there was finally a weekday morning when I didn’t have to go to work, and it happened then. Yup, I’m a slow learner. I’d become hooked.

I didn’t like that at all so I cut waaaay back, almost to nothing. And over the next 20 years, I basically limited myself to coffee three times a week. But a few months ago, my coffee drinking habits changed (that’s going to be another post), and I started drinking more coffee, stronger coffee, more often.

A few weeks ago, I got that familiar headache that comes from skipping coffee. So I backed off a few days, and then I was able to go back to coffee three days a week. But last week I hit the coffee more than usual, and today I’ve had an awful headache. I’m prone to headaches, and have had a migraine headache twice in my life. But this one is different. I get body symptoms that are a lot like hangovers. The headache is nasty, and the only way I can describe it is by saying it’s kind of…3-D.

One more day off…then I’ll have coffee again. But if I have a headache tomorrow…fuck it. I’ll give up, give in, and drink it every day.

I don’t drink coffee, but I have noticed that if I take a break from my daily Coke Zero I suffer a similar headache as you’re describing. I’m not certain if it’s caused by the absence of caffeine or the substitution of an unfamiliar beverage. Perhaps it’s both.

Eeew. Sucks how your body gets dependent that fast, doesn’t it?