No, I DON'T want you to translate that!

This might be too mild for a pitting, but I play around with studying languages. I’m no great linguist, I just enjoy learning about languages, it’s brain exercise.

As part of that I sometimes go to websites, especially news, in a language I’m studying. All well and good and one of the benefits of the modern internet.

Except now EVERY FREAKIN’ TIME I try to go to one of those web pages I get a pop up urging me to have it translated. Over and over. STOP IT!!! What, no one is allowed to use multiple languages? How dare I attempt my own translation! Here, don’t worry your feeble human brain with that, let our AI mangle the meaning for you! (Actually, machine translation is getting better)

It’s a trivial thing except it’s as annoying as hell.

Without knowing your OS, browser, and example sites there’s not much we can do but offer sympathy. FWIW, I have none of that pop-up experience when I visit various non-English websites using MS Edge on Win10.

I will suggest that perhaps you’ve enabled a “helpful” browser feature that isn’t so helpful. Which suggests there is a way to turn it back off, if only you can discover what it is.

Meantime, here’s sympathy. Like you I hate “helpful”; When I want help from a machine I will demand it. Until then, stay the ^&%&^%&^ out of my way you ignorant pile of silicon slag!

By @discobot, that “helping” shit oughta be illegal!

Hi! To find out what I can do, say @discobot display help.

I’m sorry LSLGuy, I can’t do that.]

As a web developer who sometimes works on websites in other languages and tests them in various browsers and devices, I occasionally get this translation pop-up as well, so I can relate to the OP. I imagine there’s a way within the browser settings to turn the feature off, though It hasn’t yet been annoying enough for me to seek out how.