No job for me!

I’ve been looking for work for the last since I graduated college three months ago. I’m really, seriously, hardcore down to my last dollar. I havn’t been able to pay for food for months (living off charity, and whatever food my boyfriend brings home) and this is the first month where I havn’t been able to pay rent and my boyfriend has made it pretty clear that he’ll kick me out of the house if I can’t pay for much longer. The other day I got a craving for a Mountain Dew and it dawned on me that I havn’t bought a soda since school was in because I don’t have the fifty cents to spare. I’m out of money.

Last week I went to every minimum wage employer within walking distance (a few dozen) and gave them neatly typed up application, well-written resumes and individualized cover letters. I’m a competent college graduate. Most these places are looking for someone that can show up on time and has a brain larger than a walnut. I got a couple interviews. I also got an interview for a position that I am actually qualified for, given by people I know personally, which would pay just enough for me to get by. All the interviews went great. The one for the job that would use my degree went especially well.

As you can guess, I didn’t get the job. I didn’t get any of the minimum wage jobs I applied to either.

If I can’t get a fucking minimum wage after actively looking for three months, how the fuck am I going to live? I went to college. I did the right thing. I’m looking at the bottom of the barrel and there still isn’t anything for me. I’ve given up on jobs with a future. I’ve given up on jobs that would allow me to pay rent while eating more than beans. I’ve given up on thinking that my degree, past work experience and general on-the-ballness counts for anything. I just want to work at fucking Taco Bell because I am sick of being hungry and I am sick of sitting on my ass all day with nothing to do but feel sorry for myself.