No, you are not a doctor!

Hi there, I’m a travel agent.

I book your flights, and send you on your way to many merry places. I can find you a cheap-ass trip to Vladivostok. I respect the fact that you worked hard to earn your PhD.

Unfortunately, and I must stress this again, you are NOT a doctor!

Your degree in History means jack shit to me if I’m having chest pains, or an embolism at 30,000 feet.

You see, there’s a thing called a manifest. It gets given to the flight crew on your plane. They study it, and if the person in seat 23B blows a valve, they’re coming looking for you! Thanks for wasting many potential “life saving” seconds, you pretentious fuck!

Might be a weak rant, but it bugs the shit out of me.

What is this obsession in this country that people with a doctorate are not properly a doctor if it is not in medicine? Anti-intellectualism, or what?

Not unless it says “MD” after his name. Idiot.

Can you really find me cheap tickets to Vladivostok? Really?

Yeah that’s what I was wondering too. How cheap? And not a shitty time of year, either.

Let’s correct this. That Ph.D. is damn well a doctor. What he is not is a physician.

However, there is a common usage in American English that “doctor” means, first and foremost, “medical doctor, physician,” and only secondarily “possessor of a doctorate in an academic field.”

Therefore, although some of the “facts” in the OP are invalid, it’s a thoroughly justified Pitting. The Ph.D.'s egotistic insistence on being listed as “Dr.” has the potential to waste time and perhaps cause loss of life in an emergency.

Sorry, person with academic credentials. There’s a good reason why people might not want to refer to you by your earned title; it’s not disrespect.

But I play one on TV!

Well, OK, maybe I don’t.

It’s ignorance, then?

Not to mention perhaps causing said Ph.D. to seriously piss him/herself when anxious flight attendants come running for medical help.