Notorized Will Legal?

… or must it be prepared by atty? Regards my mom’s will, she says it all in one paragraph.

The requirements for a valid will would vary by jurisdiction, but I doubt if they would ever include it being prepared by a lawyer.

really? well mom lives in TX

I suspect it’s a case of ‘not required/possibly reccomended’

Specifically, that a will doesn’t have to be prepared by a lawyer to be legal, however, that a lawyer familiar with estate law will be familiar with a number of the conditions a will must satisfy to be legal. Thus, if you don’t consult one, it won’t be invalid just because a lawyer wasn’t consulted, but it might be illegal because your mother forgot to include X, which the lawyer would have known should be there.

I am not a lawyer, and have no idea, myself, what X might be. :wink:

There are tons of Do-it-Yourself Will kits out there (books, online resources). Here is one such (just grabbed it at random…cannot vouch if it is any good or not).

http://www.qualitybooks.com/will.htm

That said any will can be contested and having an attorney prepare one helps to ensure the person’s wishes are met after their death (chances are an attorney will know how to foresee potential issues that may be fought over after the person’s death and see that their will is as ironclad as is possible).

Presumably you could write your will on the back of a napkin and as long as it meets a few requirements such as being signed by witnesses and so on (check the laws in your state to be sure…doubtless there are other requirements). I’ll bet it could be submitted to a court as legal document as long as it meets whatever the minimum requirements are for a will to be considered a legal will. The court will have to decide how reliable they think the document is and how much weight to give it but in theory I think it could work. That said it seems a dicey way at best to handle your will so I wouldn’t try it.