Nursing in Countries Other Than the US

I am a Registered Nurse (RN) in the US. We also have Licensed Practical / Vocational Nurses (LPN/LVN) who have a bit less education and slightly different duties per the various nurse practice acts of each state. What do other countries have/call their nurses? Is there a difference in what these other countries call males/men who are nurses? I’ve been told, that, in Germany, the masculine version of Krankenschwester (Sickness/ IllnessSister) is Krankenbrüder.

Talk to me of nursing outside the USA!

Incidentally, would my education and experience mean anything in other countries? Could I work where you are?

The Hebrew word for female nurse is *achot *(Sister). The Hebrew word for male nurse is *ach *(Brother). We like to keep things simple.

In Spanish it’s enfermero (m) or enfermera (f). The job itself, the location where you go to get first aid (in a school or other public space) and often the sign on nurse’s offices, is enfermería. The root word is enfermo/a, sick person.

The Spanish educational system has suffered too many revolutions in the last 20 years; I got my degree (ChemE) in 1994 under a curriculum or “course plan” approved in 1954, the 1992 plan had already been approved, the next one is now in place, and a new one is expected in two years - therefore, right now the only thing that can be said for sure about “how to get a degree in X field in Spain” is “wait too long and the requirements will change”.

When I was in college, nursing was a “professional school”: for a long time, it had been the only 3-year degree in the country. When other 3-year degrees got put in place in 1992 (to give a degree to those who had previously been “mid-degree droupouts”), many nursing schools went up to 4, seeking equalization with those which had previously taken 5 years (licenciaturas) and differentiation from the former-dropouts. They achieved it, and now you can get a masters’ or a PhD in nursing.