Obamacare question

Upfront I have to say I have no experience with the ACA. My healthcare is through work and so far covered under my contract.

If needed later I’ll give the backstory. Basically I want to know if what someone told me is true. I was told she can’t afford healthcare. This is someone who only works part time but I’m estimating makes about 30k a year. She says that healthcare would cost $800 a month. The insurance would only be for her and no one else. $800 seems to be way high from glancing at previous threads. Is there a healthcare expert here that would know? Or do I not have enough information?

I am familiar with ACA. While I don’t know her situation precisely, that could be a little high, but it depends. Don’t forget that there are several levels of coverage, usually called bronze, silver, gold, and platinum. In my own case – I’m in my 50s – a silver plan costs about $500 per month, but a gold plan costs about $700 per month.

Also, with her income she could be eligible for subsidies, but that’s another issue.

What state?

How old is she?

Depending on her age and what state she lives in, $800/mo. is not necessarily out of line.

Just as a point of reference, my church still carries insurance on our administrative assistant, who’s single and in her early 50’s. It’s not an exact comparison to Obamacare (for one thing the package includes disability coverage) but this year’s cost for her is $10,119 for roughly Silver-level coverage.

Is your church contractually required to cover types of insurance that a single person might not choose to add on to theirs due to cost, such as dental and/or eye-care?

New Jersey

Here is where you plug in info to get your insurance costs, and here is a news article about the costs of Obamacare rates in New Jersey. Note that none of the examples are anywhere near 800 a month.