Oil for Briggs and Stratton 500 Series

I bought VP Small Engine Fuels’ 4 cycle Small Engine Oil for my lawn mower. The back is labeled: “VP Full Synthetic SAE 30W/10W-30 formulation meets the requirements for bot SAE 30W and SAE 10W-30 standards, so it can be used in a multitude of small engines applications including Briggs & Stratton…” Although it does not caution against mixing with conventional oil of the same rating, is it correct to assume one should not mix the two? I just want to confirm with the SDopers before I make a fatal mistake.

Also, I assume “4-cycle” and “4-stroke” is the same thing, correct?

I am not an oil expert, but this is my understanding.

First of all, yes. 4-Cycle and 4-Stroke are the same as far as internal combustion engines are concerned.

Second, the multi-viscosity rating system is a bit confusing. Yes, a 10W-30 weight oil is supposed to act like a 10 weight at low temperatures and a 30 weight at higher temperatures. The characteristics of a 30 weight at higher temperatures (100C or 212F) is well defined, but the characteristics of a 10 weight oil at low temperatures (-25C or -13F) is not. They have defined what a “10W” oil must have at these low temperatures, presumably based on what a “typical” 10 weight oil might have (the “W” in 10W is not for “weight” but for “winter”). To earn the 10W qualification, the oil must have certain viscosity and pumping characteristics at these low temperatures. To earn the “30 weight” qualification, the oil must have specific viscosity characteristics at 212F (100C).