Ok, so my boyfriend is working up to posting here.

And we already have the perfect user name for him! He’s a little nervous about the posting standards because he’s a bad speller, but I think he’d be a great addition to the boards. (He just informed me that the first use of “disrespect” was 1614.)

So, can I “reserve” his username with a password he can access? I’m not a very prolific or argumentative poster so it’s not like I’m trying to form a sock.

No, you may not.

Have him create his own account. He doesn’t have to post from it if he doesn’t want to.

twickster, moderator.

I use Firefox, and it puts red underlines below misspelled words. It won’t help if the misspelling is actually a different word, but it will get him halfway there. I’d guess most browsers have this feature by now.

He could also make his sig be something like “Yeah, my spelling sucks. Sorry.” People will (mostly) lay off.

Tell him to come right along. We’ll lay off on the spelling. Well, we’ll lay off until he’s hooked. . .and by then, he won’t have a choice, will he? :smiley:

Alternately, he could put every single person who pedantically corrects spelling in the absence of any other conversational input on the Ignore list. It works.

Anytime I’m not sure of the spelling, I put the word into google.

Hmmmm. Apparently I don’t do that… :wink:

I’m so pleased someone else does that too.

When we first started out, there were lots more pedants making snide comments about typos. We then learned Gaudere’s Law: the posts that complain about someone else’s spelling or grammar, almost always have a spelling or grammar mistake of their own. Hence, most of us no longer care much about whether posts have proper grammar or impeccable spelling.

And, yes, he does need to register on his own, with his own password etc. It’s relatively painless, and he can email TubaDiva or me if he has any probs or questions.