OK to buy a PC at Best Buy, Circuit City, etc?

Is it OK to buy a computer at a store, or is this asking for a bad machine?

I’ve been buying Gateways and Dells by mail order for almost 20 years, but now I want to get a gift quickly and don’t have time for mail order. I always figured any computer in a store would be junk, but no longer remember why.

It’s okay to buy one from those evil entities, but pray to Og you don’t need to go to them for service.

I’ve bought five PC’s from Best Buy and you’re quite likely to get a good machine there. If you’re willing to pay a little extra, they’ve got the Geek Squad, which is in-home service. They do have the annoying habit of bundling them up into packages which includes a free printer that end up being more expensive if you don’t take the printer, beucas you don’t get so many rebates without taking the whole enchilada.

I got my present computer, a Medion something or other, from Best Buy.

It was a hell of a deal. 3.2 gig P4, half a gig of ram, decent video and sound cards, Lexmark inkjet printer, 17 inch flat screen monitor, keyboard, mouse, decent speakers all for $650 after rebates.

When I first bought it I took it apart to put in a wireless NIC and was presently suprised at how well it was built. Soild case, wires all routed and wrapped up,etc.

I haven’t had a problem with it. I did up the ram to a gig.

I don’t think I would take it in for service due to the service costs and the fact that I am a computer geek and can repair it myself.

I wouldn’t worry about buying from big chain stores. I might, on the other hand be a little wary about buying from a local computer store.

Slee

Bought my computer at Best Buy in 1998. It’s still running just fine. Had to take the original monitor back because it didn’t work out of the box, but other than that eerything’s been fine. I have several friends who have bought there since then and haven’t had problems either.

GT