On the correct apportionment of 5% of the blame...(long)

…for my inability to find a three story lump of stone in the middle of my own city with directions, a map, a bicycle and every assistance barring only a 50ft neon sign with the words “This is the building you’re looking for. Yes, here. On your right. No, your other right. Turn around you silly blind bint.”

So. It’s Monday night. Choir practise night. I’m new to this choir - in fact it’s only the second rehearsal I’ve ever been to. So, I’d like to make a good impression here - for instance, by turning up to practise on time. On time! What a good idea! The fact that there are about eight different rehearsal venues, used in no particular order or pattern, and that rehearsal number 2 is in a building I’ve never been to or heard of before isn’t going to freak me out, is it?

So whose fault, tell me WHOSE FAULT is it that instead of sauntering in to practise ten minutes early, figuing out where the 4th Altos sit in plenty of time, maybe getting a chance to say hi to my fellow choirmeisters I turn up, pissed off and out of breath an hour and a half late, having spent ALL of the intervening time cycling and wandering around the city looking for the venue? Whose Fault, I ask you?

Oh. Mine.

Umm.

Since, when faced with the task of navigating to an unknown destination a normal, sensible person (hereafter known as Not Me) would perform the following actions:

1. See unknown address 'Horticultural Hall, 31 Victoria St ’
  2. Look up location in handy street directory.
  3. Travel to correct location.

Rather than, to take a random example,

1. See unknown address 'Horticultural Hall, 31 Victoria St ’
  2. Think 'Ooh, I know where that is, that’s just around the corner from my work.
  3. Cycle to supposed location (15 mins)
  4. Discover that ‘Victoria Street’ is different to ‘Victoria Parade’.
  5. Cycle to other ‘Victoria Street’ which is fairly close by and may be the one which was referred to (15 mins)