One day in Chicago, what to do?

Chicago superstar, I sure could use your help.

I’m in training for work M-W this week.
I’m thinking if taking Thursday off and hanging around to see the city, its my first time here.

Any suggestions, it things to do it avoid?

Thanks!

Chicago is VERY big. You’re going to need to narrow things down with respect to where you will be and how much transportation you’ll have access to. Will you have the evenings M-W to do other things as well? How touristy do you want to be? Food and drink? Museums and architecture? Sports and culture? Gonna need something to go on.

I agree, you will have to narrow it down, but I think seeing the bean, walking along the lake, and going to the Art Institute should all be under consideration.

Shedd Aquarium and The Field Museum are within walking distance of each other. They were the highlight of my Chicago trip. We stayed at a downtown hotel and walked by the lake to the Aquarium. The Field Museum has a captured Nazi UBoat and currently have a Mummies exhibit. There was a pyramid inside the museum when I visited 15 years ago.

Bzzz. Nope, the U-boat is at The Museum of Science and Industry. Personally it’s my favorite of all the museums in Chicago. It’s a little bit more of a trek to Hyde Park, but worth it.

The Field is great and convenient as is the Art Institute, since both are basically adjacent to the Loop. The Shedd is also interesting but it’s not exactly Sea World.

Museum of Science and Industry > Field Museum > Art Institute >> Shedd Aquarium > Adler Planetarium.

All are worthwhile ways to spent time, and the proximity of the Field, Shedd and Adler makes them a good combo but MS&I is by far the most engaging for the typical person who’s not enamored of fine art or especially interested in the Field’s current exhibits. Unfortunately if you only have 1 day you’d have to choose between the MS&I and the Field/Shedd/Adler.