Ongoing cooking/baking advice and tips thread

I love to cook, and I’m almost entirely self-taught. I’m addicted to cookbooks and cooking magazines, having amassed a large collection, and I challenge myself to make something new a couple of times a week. If there’s a technique I’m unfamiliar with, I can usually find a YouTube tutorial, and other questions I can usually Google. But oftentimes I could still use some expert advice.

I know there are cooking message boards, but I’ve long wished for a one-stop shop on the SDMB where our own cooks - both hobbyist and professional - can share their wisdom (and maybe even recipes, though I understand that posting full recipes might be a no-no because of copyright issues? Perhaps we could PM each other).

I’ll start with a question.

I have a special edition magazine dedicated to vegetables and side dishes. I want to make Fresh Herb & Bulgur Pilaf. Elsewhere in that same issue it explains what bulgur is and how to prepare it: Pour 1 and 1/2 cups boiling water or broth over 1 cup bulgur and let stand until light and fluffy. What’s not clear in the pilaf recipe itself is whether you’re supposed to do that beforehand, or if it will attain the desired state as part of the process. I can provide additional details if needed.

Aye, details may help. What happens in the pilaf? Presumably you add liquid at some point in it? Those instructions for what to do with bulgur and broth are pretty much the long and short of what it needs (though I have known it to need simmering sometimes, to soften it adequately), so the soaking and standing may be redundant if the recipe has that covered.

You start by cooking onion and garlic in oil for several minutes. Then you add 1.5 cups bulgur, two cups broth, and several other ingredients. Bring to a boil, then cover and cook over medium-low heat until all the broth is absorbed and there are “eyes” or indentations in the bulgur, about 15 minutes.