Online scheduling software that takes varying transit time into account

I’m a tutor, going from house to house. I’d like to offer online scheduling to my students and their families, but I haven’t found any options that take varying transit times into account.

For instance–let’s say I have three students: Erica, Joe, and Paul. Erica has already scheduled. It’s 30 minutes from Erica to Joe, but it’s 45 minutes from Erica to Paul. Suppose Erica sees me on Tuesdays, 3:30–5:00 pm. I’d love to find online scheduling that would offer Joe an opening at 3:30, but that would offer Paul a time at 3:45 pm.

I realize this is a somewhat specialized question, but I don’t know whom to ask about this topic. I’ve posted a similar question on stackoverflow, but I thought that maybe the collective genius of the Dope might be able to help.

Many such tools exist. The problem is that most of them are vast overkill for you because they are tailored towards large operations and very expensive.

However, there are some out there that are very reasonably priced for a monthly fee for everything. The general category of software that you are looking for is “online dispatch software” and “online service management software”. There are many available on Google but, again, many of them are huge overkill for you. There is a one general purpose online application that looks promising called kickserv. You will have to look at it and talk to them to see if it can meet your needs but it is in the ballpark and there are others if they don’t.

Your problem is fairly easy to solve through a custom solution for any competent web developer but I wouldn’t recommend that unless you want to have a sideline in minor league software development and maintenance. That is perfectly possible but I wouldn’t recommend it unless you are interested in managing and maintaining such things.

Housecall Pro may be worth checking out as well.