Organic Chemistry Help -- When to use the N

I’m a student taking organic chemistry now, and so far I’m surviving. The one concept I’ve struggled to wrap my brain around is exactly when one should use the n- prefix before a straight chain. I had thought it was used before chains of four or more carbons that do not require a number. Thus, it would be n-butane but 1-butanol or 1-butyne.

Now my teacher says that carboxylic acids do not require the n- even though they would not require a number! Can anybody help me here, when is the n- appropriate? Aldehydes? Carboxylic acids? I’m confused.

Any help is appreciated!

Rule 1 - never mix "n"s with numbers. If you are using the common system you can use “n” and prefixes such as iso, neo, tert, etc. or you can use the alpha, beta, gamma method of labeling carbons. But you never use numbers.

If you are using the IUPAC system then you use numbers and never use any of the above mentioned methods.

Rule 2 - when naming carboxylic acids you always begin with the longest straight chain which contains the carcoxy carbon. In other words…any butyric acid begins with a straight chain of 4 carbons, the “first” of which is the carboxy carbon. So it would be redundant to call it n-butyric acid since the “butyric” is aleady defined to be a straight chain.

I wish I could draw stuctures here but I can’t, so…

• draw a butyric acid (4 carbon, carboxylic group on first carbon)

• tack an ethyl group onto the alpha carbon (the carbon next to the carboxy carbon)

• the longest carbon chain is now 6 carbons, but we do not use this 6 carbon chain in naming the cmpd because the 6 carbon chain does not contain the carboxy carbon!!

• instead, the RULE is to look for the longest straight chain which does contain the carboxy carbon. We therefor call the above alpha-ethylbutyric acid. And since the “butyric” part is by definition a straight chain, we never have to worry about an “n” prefix.