Our younger generations include good people, but some of our behaviors/actions poorly represent us

For this thread, I’ll be focusing on Millennials & Generation Z:

Now, if the internet, along with technology, was invented back in the 50’s & 60’s, then they would’ve gone through the same transition/struggles as we do today. There’s also mature & immature people from every generation.

Overall, even though we get a bad rap from time to time, I feel like that only some of us poorly represent us as generation. I was born in 1997, which makes me an older Gen Z.

This applies to every generation.

I graduated in 1977. The people just prior to my generation questioned authority, shut down the Vietnam war, created great music, challenged social mores and liberated sexuality and lived on communes. Some of it may have been trite or ephemeral but there was a lot of substance to what they did and stood for. The people my age gave the world disco and embraced the trivial and were far less political and socially active in general.

I harbor no negative attitudes towards the generations that have followed. Young people today seem more politically responsible and courageous than my classmates seemed to me in 1977.

The only millenials that have a negative perception in my eye are the ones people talk negatively about on the internet. I’m a gen-X’er, so I’m now one of the old guys at work, full of millenials. They’re hard working engineers with good salaries, living the American dream.

The millennials I know fall into two categories:

Those that are happily pursuing their own path, albeit not the norm. And those that are absolutely crushing it. Like changing the world types.