Out of control biting dog - advice?

Hi everyone,

I’m a complete newbie here - a friend who is forum regular recommended this site to me because I’d told her I was at my wit’s end with my dog, Ruskin. He’s a seven month old male English cocker spaniel (unneutered). I’ve had dogs all my life and my last dog was an English Springer/cocker cross which means in theory he ought to have been as mad as a box of frogs. But despite an imperfect upbringing from me, he was a sweetheart and pretty damn obedient.

Ruskin is not.

I’ve had him since he was eight weeks old. Not wanting to repeat my past mistakes, I’ve read many books on bringing up puppies (not just on puppies in general but on cockers in particular). I’ve followed all the non-force methods of positive reinforcement with him and have treated him with firm gentleness and love. But from day one he’s been… basically, a nightmare. And he’s barely improved.

The two biggest issues are aggression and toilet training. He bites me - ranging from playful nips to proper, blood-drawing bites - all the time and also swipes me with his front paws and draws blood that way. When I walk him (and he gets between an hour’s and and hour and a half’s off-lead exercise every day) he will jump at other dogs and attempt to bite their ears and muzzles. He’ll bite me if I try to catch and stop him. He also attacks my cats, despite their having both given him a good whack with a stiff paw on many occasions. I’m frightened one day he might kill one of them. I have no idea where this behaviour is coming from. I’m really firm with him, I tell him NO in a deep yet calm voice, I yelp if he bites me and put him away from me and ignore him so that he knows he’s causing pain, but it’s like he’s completely indifferent.