Outrageous Moments of Good Actors Over-acting

Holy fuck, have you SEEN Rod Steiger in The January Man?

The director should have said, “Rod, you’re at about a 400. We’re gonna need you at a 7.”

More examples?

I nominate Rod Steiger as well but for Amytiville Horror. Not everytime he’s onscreen but the scene where he tried to convince the other priests the house is eeeeeeeviiiillllllllll.

Al Pacino in Scent of A Woman

Hoo-ah! did that suck.

Heh. I was thinking Al Pacino in Devil’s Advocate. Then I thought of Dog Day Afternoon. Then I thought of Scarface. Then I gave up and just thought Al Pacino.

“Release the Kraken!”

-Sir Laurence Olivier

'nuff said

Lets look at Keano’s over acting trying to copy the great man. I Win! I Win! I’m a lawyer, thats my Job that’s what I do!

Or does that not count coz you said ‘good actors’ ?

Ben Kingsley in Sexy Beast. “NO! NO! NO! NO!”

Heh! I was just thinking about Sir Laurence in The Betsy.

Jeremy Irons in Dungeons And Dragons

Brian

Ditto Ben Kinsgley- freakin brilliant. Also in a good way- Gary Oldman in The Professional.

Overacting in a bad way- Jack Palance, The Big Knife.

I am tapping the side of my nose with my index finger. I don’t know how he got as famous as he is. Pacino is painful to watch.

Jack Nicholson in The Departed. During the “rat” scene, he was practically a cartoon.

Gary Oldman in The Fifth Element.

Actually, I thought Sir Laurence was the model of restraint in Clash of the Titans, if you compared it to his performances in
A Little Romance
The Boys from Brazil
The Jigsaw Man
(Olivier and Caine, together again, years after Sleuth, hamming it up!)
The aforementioned Betsy

and … The Jazz Singer!

Richard Burton is often cited as egregious in this regard, especially in The Exorcist II
Vincent Price often had to reign it in – too often to mention, but especially in the “funny” Corman Poe outings.

Robert DeNiro in “Analyse this” Trying to be an emotional mafia man just made me cringe.