Parents: How to "Coach" English Composition?

By middle school, English class gets tough! I remember being in 7th grade in tears! Now, I am at that point with my daughter. So, how does a parent teach good writing…without writing it for the kid?!? I can’t seem to find a middle ground.

Specifically, how to write strong introductions, a strong thesis statement, a strong topic sentence, and strong conclusions?

I’m not a parent, but I am an English professor who teaches a lot of freshman comp. Honestly, I don’t think you need to teach writing. That’s the school’s job, and besides, it’s pretty damn close to unteachable. People learn to write by reading – a hell of a lot – and writing and writing and writing a lot of very bad prose, and getting feedback on their writing, and writing some more, and finally writing something halfway decent. There are NO shortcuts, and students have to get a lot of bad essays out of their system before they can write a good one. Pretty much the only think you can do is a) stand aside and let your kid make her own mistakes; and b) have a house full of books, and read them often, in front of the kid, and with apparent enjoyment. (I wish to God more than one in a hundred of my students had a parent who could model the second part.)

It is so hard to stay out of it though. My kids even have the luxury of 16 kids to a class and I still think the teachers don’t spend enough time with the individual student to work out the kinks in their writing.

One thing the school does which I think is great, is they allow the student to hand in a draft a few days before the due date. The teachers don’t offer as much constructive criticism as I think they should but it is helpful. My husband keeps trying to get them to give their assignments to me to proofread but they get pretty testy with my input!