Pennsylvania Gun Laws

I am purchasing a hand gun from my sister-in-law. The gun is registered in Pennsylvania and I live in Ohio. Do I need to go to a licensed PA gun dealer to transfer the gun?

Since when does Pennsylvania maintain a gun registry?

I assumed it was registered, lets just say it was purchased in Pennsylvania.

I am not a lawyer. This probably should be moved to IMHO, since you’re asking for what I think is legal advice. A mod’s been notified.

That said, the following page from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives is probably going to help you.

As I understand your situation: you are a resident of Ohio, the seller is your sister-in-law, she is a resident of Pennsylvania, and neither of you have a federal firearms license (FFL)? Plus, she’s alive, right, this doesn’t have anything to do with a bequest from a will? And you are trying to purchase the firearm while you are in PA? Oh, and you don’t own any property in PA, such that you can be considered a resident of PA while you are there?

Then, it looks like, according to the BATFE’s citation of the 1968 Gun Control Act and 1934 National Firearms Act, that you will need to make the transfer through a FFL holder:

Your SIL can ship the gun to an Ohio gun dealer. You can go to the Ohio gun dealer and complete the transfer just like you were buying a gun at any dealer in the state. The dealer will charge a transfer fee (typically $25 to $35), and you may need to pay state sales tax or ‘use tax’.

You can find an FFL holder near you using this resource. (You don’t need to go to a ‘gun store’; just make the transfer through a licensee.)

Legal advice goes in IMHO.

Colibri
General Questions Moderator

And your SIL in PA can’t just unload and pack the firearm and drop it off at UPS or USPS to send it to your local firearms dealer in OH. She’s got to take it to her local firearms dealer in PA for him to ship it to your local guy. Blame Lee Harvey Oswald.

Official Government Source