Phone Interview! How should I prepare?!

I’m very excited and nervous right now. I’ve just been offered an interview for a visiting instructor position, which entails teaching undergraduate art history classes. It’s not a tenure-track position, but it would let me teach a couple of courses in my specialty–not only introductory-type survey classes–and it would be my first “real” career opportunity in academia.

Here’s the thing: it’s a phone interview. I’ve never done one of these before.

Are there any significant differences I should expect in this interviewing format? Obviously, I won’t be able to rely on my charming smile and boyish good looks (heh) to make a positive impression. And I imagine that a moment of silence on the phone will sound like an eternity. On the plus side, I feel like I have decent oratorial skills as a teacher, and I feel fairly confident with the sound/tone of my voice.

Would anyone like to relate their experiences (both good and bad) with phone interviews? I’d be interested to hear both sides of the story–from the perspective of the interviewer as well as the interviewee. In the absence of visual cues, what kinds of things do interviewers “look” for on a phone interview? Any advice on the kinds of things I should, or should not, say or do?

And while I’m at it, how do you handle that last question: “Do you have any questions for us?” I understand that “no” is considered an unacceptable answer (a sign of apathy on my part), but I’m not sure what kinds of subjects I should ask about–questions about the university? their department’s mission statement? the best bars in town? (kidding)

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Take some deep breaths before you begin. It will help your phone voice be more pleasant and sound more relaxed.

Smile as you talk. People really can “hear” a smiling voice, and it can boost the interviewers’ impression of you as a nice person to work with.