Photography/Flash Question

I have been asked to take photos at a charity event this weekend. I have done this before, but not for a couple of years. It is a ball, so the photos are of guests in evening wear - we sell the photos to raise funds, and people like the memento.

I should say that I am only an enthusiastic amateur photographer, and I don’t much like portrait photography.

This year I will be using my Lumix FZ30 with a tripod - a great camera, but I’m concerned about using the popup flash on it’s own. I hope to have a nice background drape to take the posed photos against, but I need to know about lighting the guests. I could get a cheap light-triggered slave flash to sysnc with the popup. A decent flash (has to be manual, the FZ30 has no TTL flash capability) is much more expensive - I’d like really like one to match the FZs long lens, but the cost is pretty steep, and I don’t know that I will have time to figure out what I am doing with the exposure.

I have used an indirect floor light (100Watt halogen floodlamp) - it was sort of ok but I think the lighting created harsh shadows but the photos themselves were a bit dark.

Anyone got any advice?

Si

If you could get a strobe to go on the hot shoe, I’d say use that but point it at the ceiling, then use a manual strobe high and to the side, preferably with a soft box or into a umbrella. Point the floor light at the backdrop.

Get to the venue as soon as possible. Take a volunteer dressed in black. Shoot some test shots and post them here. I bet you’ll get some really good advice.

+1.