Piano performance tempo question

So I’m trying to go back to school for composition after a long academic hiatus. Naturally, I am auditioning for admission. problem being, it’s a classical audition and I’m a jazz/blues guy. I can perform these pieces pretty well but I’m having some issues with tempos. I’m hoping someone can give some guidance here.

Bach
The Little Notebook: Four Minuets
No tempo markings; they all seem to be comfortable at med-quick allegro.

Beethoven Op 49 no 2
Allegro ma non troppo
What does this mean? 120? 130? It mostly feels right about 115 but the triplet arpeggios start getting awful quick beyond that.

Eric Satie
Gymnopedie No. 1
Lent et doloreux
How slow? Largo? Adagio?

Also there is a Brahms waltz but I can’t remember the opus number for the life of me. What’s a reasonable guess for a mid-Romantic waltz?

Thanks so much!

I can’t really help you with metronome markings for those pieces, since I’m a theatre musician, but can’t you just gather a collection of recordings from well-established players and go from there?

picker, have you tried PM’ing our classical music Dopers, like Le Ministre, Figaro, **Fachvirrt **(lordy, am I sure I misspelled that; sorry!) and many others?

The edition of the Beethoven op. 49, #2 I have suggests mm 128 to 132 to the quarter note. Cheerful (fast), but not too fast.

The Satie is usually played quite slow, 3 in a bar feel; for what it’s worth, my edition says quarter = 66. Go for an unhurried walk and take note of your tempo. Most Lent means Largo or even Lento, but in this case I’d go closer to Adagio or even Andante. Satie did 90% of his composition on his long walks after he’d missed the last train home.