Picture advice sought.

Even though I’m an expert in neither, I like to make jewelry and take pictures of it. Here are a couple of examples.

Thanks to my imaginary internet friends who speak slowly and hold my hand while explaining things to me, I learned that a fast shutter and lots of light will get me a sharp image up close. This works well with earrings that are little but I’m having a problem with necklaces.

How did these photographers get such fine details on the necklaces from far away enough to get most of the chain in the picture?

http://butterflips.com/jewelry/copper/totalCopper.jpg

So crystal clear and sharply in focus! I would love for all my pictures to come out that way. What alchemy do professional photographers use?
P.S. I don’t know where or even if I’d wear it, but that last necklace is a beaut!

You want a lot of light and a slow shutter speed. Or, more precise, a small aperture, giving the deepest depth of field.
If you have a point-and-shoot camera, set it to landscape mode.

I’ve done some jewelry photography for ebay, and my stuff turns out pretty good. I am no expert, seriously, but here’s what I do:

1. I bought a light cube and lights from here
  2. I use the “macro” setting on my standard digital camera (it’s represented by a little flower symbol
  3. Profit!

It really was that easy for me. Except for the “profit” part, but, oh well ;). I love that photography equipment website - they have all kinds of tips on there as well.

ETA: I did not buy any of the fancy “jewelry photography” kits. Just the light cube and some lights.

Ooh! Those lights would be a whole lot better than the table lamps I use. The question is: should I take that step from two $5 table lamps to $120 specialty lamps? Especially considering below.
gary, I put my camera on ‘s’ and set it at, like 1/30, when I should be on ‘a’? Should the f be a high number or low number? These things have been explained to me countless times but it just does not sink in.