Photographers, how do I get my photos to look more like this?

I realize that professional photography is a true art form and I am not going to just pick it up overnight. However, I’d like to know what quality the photos here share that just gives them that special “pop” that seems to be lacking in most of my own photos. Is the contrast just dialed up really high? I feel like there’s something obvious here that I just can’t name.

Depth of field, and perfect exposure levels.

I’m not a professional photographer but one thing most of the photos in the link share are a shallow depth of field. Try playing with the focus and aperture.
Any good photo editor can enhance the colours and this will help too, but I think that the impact of those photos is heightened because there is nothing to distract from the motif.

IANA pro but it looks to me like they’ve been photoshopped or otherwise enhanced outside the camera. What strikes me is how pure the colors are. I’m not good at photoshop at ALL but I suppose contrast is maxed out with it somehow.

Look at #35 (I’m putting the mouse on the image and “elizabethkavi-035” pops up). The way her face is brightly lit looks like it was done in a studio.

#18 doesn’t look quite right. The box (cake?) looks plopped in.

I’m trying to puzzle out how the photographer is manipulating the focus/depth of field (zone of focus) like that. I wonder if she was using a lensbaby to control what was in focus because in some photos, it seems like two items are at the same distance from but not equally in focus, e.g. #24. The head of the horse and the woman in red are at about the same distance but the horse is sharp and she isn’t.

Can you not fake the depth of field using the blurring tools in Photoshop? I figured that’s why they were there.

I agree that depth of field is one of the most important aspects. If I take a photo with a compact, then the same with an SLR, the difference is striking.