Playing guitar and singing: certain easy songs are incredibly difficult to me?

I’ve been playing guitar for about 14 yrs now, and, though I don’t play as much as I used to, I can still play pretty well. I love singing and playing. There are some pretty difficult songs out there that I have no trouble singing and playing. For instance, the first person who comes to mind is Dave Matthews. He’s got some pretty complex riffs, and I rarely have trouble playing them and singing along.

On the other hand, take Ben Harper or Iron & Wine. Both of them play some pretty straightforward chord progressions on some of their stuff, and I just cannot sing along with it.

Why is it that I can sing what seems to be more difficult stuff with little problem, but more straightforward stuff is difficult?

I’m thinking it has something to do with the beat. Looking at Iron & Wine again, he tends to start singing in between beats, and the lyrics don’t always stick to the beat. Same with Ben Harper.

Also, when I try to play their songs, I tend to fingerpick.

Also, I’d be interested in ways I can overcome this. I don’t think it’s an issue of my guitar playing, or my singing. It’s an issue of doing them both at the same time. Are there techniques people use to be able to sing and play at different tempos or beats?

I should have asked this, say, ten years ago, but I didn’t. Time to branch out.

I think you’ve already stumbled on the key issue.

The easiest thing to do is to exhale (start a syllable) on a down beat in sync with a down stroke (strum) on the guitar. That’s the most natural combination. Everything else is some sort of syncopation which trips up the hand or the voice or both.