Please advise me on selecting a roofer.

Hello everyone. I’m looking to have a new roof put on. I’ve never done this before, so I’m looking for advise.

What do I need to look out for? I know there are a lot of types of product, are there any particular styles I should avoid? What’s the best way to shop this service?

I thought I’d google local roofers and get at least three bids, but I don’t know if I should expect to pay a fee for that or not. I assume they can advise me about the many styles, but I also assume up-sell will be at play.

So, just looking for some help. Thanks in advance.

I’ll just comment on of a few of the choices you have with their products, not the roofers themselves, seem like your approach is a good start there of getting three bids.

I’m a bit biased towards metal roofs for a whole lot of reasons, although it typically runs you a bit more than typical shingles, and since it’s metal buildings I’m mostly putting them on, anyway, it’s a wise choice. For homes, not a bad choice either, I have one on mine, but probably would have been just as content with a good composite shingle roof.

While on jury duty about two years ago, I met a roofer who said they now have a 40 year, and I think 50 year composite shingle that he was really sold on. Also, if you get hail damage on that particular roof, even though the roof is still good, the insurance company often pays out like a slot machine. Not so on a metal roof, where they consider it only cosmetic for most hail damage, but if the hail was big enough, to where it crimpled the overlapping edge enough to where water could possibly seep in, they will then pay for replacement. I’m sure the insurance policies vary considerably, but this is what I’ve discovered in my area of N. TX.