Please explain yourself, SkipMagic

In this thread I asked if someone would lend me an old FrontPage CD so I could reinstall a newer version that needed to see evidence of the previous version. I thought I had thrown the old disk out, forgetting that I would need it in case I had to do a reinstall.

Fortunately, I found the old disk, so the issue is moot. But I am puzzled by Skip Magic’s closing post. Before posting, I considered whether I might be breaking SDMB’s rules, and concluded I wasn’t doing anything legally, or even ethically, wrong. So what law would I have been violating, and how could I have acted properly in Skip’s view? For the sake of the following discussion, let’s assume that I had actually lost my old FP98 disk.

I legally own a copy of FP2000 that I have been using for several years. It’s only a matter of chance that I no longer have the disk that the program requires to complete the reinstallation. I believe I still have the right to use that program. Borrowing a disk simply for the sake of reinstalling would simply have brought me back to status quo ante.

If the view is that doing this would have circumvented a copy protection scheme, that’s not the case here. The installation program needs to see evidence of the earlier version, but if you have that, you can install FP2000 on as many computers as you like (illegally, of course). But that’s not what I had in mind. Just my one legal copy.

Furthermore, I don’t see what alternative Skip would propose.

I haven’t checked, but I am reasonably sure Microsoft would not sell me a replacement FrontPage 98 disk that would let me reinstall FP 2000. I’m quite sure they would happily sell me a copy of the latest version, but don’t believe they have any right to insist that I do that, and I see no reason why I should, since I’m happy with the version I own.