Plumbing Pro's: A Question For You

What would it take for one to have an industrial toilet installed in ones personal residence? You know the toilet: tankless, hard-piped, chrome lever flusher, mighty whoosh flush. Don’t need answer fast. :slight_smile: Thanks.

You can go the American Standard Commercial Toiletwebsite and pick one out. I’m not a professional plumber, but it appears it will take more money than common household toilets, for the toilet, and I assume for the installation as well. I heard about people trying to install these in apartments in NYC long ago and the only problem mentioned then was a lack of water pressure.

Found this thread from a DIY site. Basically the pros said it was a very bad idea. From what I gleaned from the posts there is not enough pressure for the toilet to work even as both types are 1.6 gallons per flush.

http://www.terrylove.com/forums/archive/index.php/t-252.html

I did not read the whole thread FYI

Capt of the Reavers

I am not a plumber, but the commercial/industrial toilets I’ve seen have had supply pipes that appeared to be two inches in diameter, as compared with the (1/2"? 3/4"?) supply lines common in houses.

Do you just want it to look like that or do you want it to work well. At work, we got one of those ‘pressurized’ ones. It does make a whoosh, sound, but it looks like a normal toilet since everything is contained in the same type of tank you’d see on any other toilet (if you open it up, it’s dry and looks very different then a normal tank).

I swear you could flush a small child down this toilet without a problem. However, it’s loud and I probably wouldn’t want one in my house if it was going to be sharing a wall with a bedroom.

Tankless requires a larger mains all the way to the toilet, eg 3" for residential pressure…,

You can hide a smaller tank in the wall. EG Joey’s picture is of a smaller device that could be embedded in the wall.

Here’s the same thing as Joey