Poison Ivy and Chemical Peels

I volunteered to help with a road side clean up and managed to get a nice poison ivy rash on my face. Would a chemical peel facial help to get rid of the rash or would I just make it worse?

Tecnu

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor, just someone who gets lots of rashes.

Probably make it worse. Your skin is already irritated and you want to chemically peel it? Not a good idea. Tell me, if you skin your knee do you scrub it with steel wool and wash it with acid? No? Alright, maybe not that bad, but that’s not the way to deal with poison ivy.

If Tecnu or over the counter remedies don’t do the job go to a doctor - there are prescription-strength medications, both topical and oral, that will significantly reduce discomfort, rash, itching, and will be a proper treatment for this problem.

The Tecnu neutralizes the oil. You have to get treatment from a doctor if it’s already a bad case.

If the rash is on your face, definitely see a doctor. They can give you a shot and/or prescribe steroids that dramatically speed up the healing and minimize scarring and possible secondary infections that result from the scratching.

My hubby has to do this at least a couple of times a year, since for whatever reason it’s like just can walk by the stuff and get a rash on his face or body. Me, on the other hand-- I can practically roll in and not get it as long as I take a shower after doing yard work.

Again, not a doctor. Just someone who has lots of experience rubbing on the OTC “remedies” on a loved one.