Preventing tooth decay without going to a dentist

I’m not going to purpotrate any kind of lie here and claim this question applies to somebody else. (My friend was wondering…) I’m only 23 and my teeth are not in the best shape. I brush regularly. Yet they are somewhat crooked and slightly yellow in places. Some in the rear also have cavities. What is the best method to avoid future tooth loss that does not involve going to the dentist? And how does one make teeth white without spending large sums of money?

I’m no doctor or dentist, but if you say you alrerady have cavities and your teeth are yellow i suggest going to a dentist. If you don’t have insurance it may cost you more than you want to pay, but it’ll be cheaper now to get your teeth taken care of than to wait and have to pay for serious dental work.

WE MAKE HOLES IN TEETH!

(sorry, I kept thinking of old Crest commercials)

Thanks for the quick answer. I have insurance and some ability to go to the dentist. Eventually I will. My main question reguards whether there are actions I or any one else can take in my situation to avoid the dentist by:

brushing 10 times a day?
using alot of mouthwash?

Some sort of method of effecting change without going to the dentist.

The one most effective thing you can do is give up sugar. But most people don’t want to do that.

:rolleyes:

Curious Dude, why don’t you go to a dentist? Especially since you say you have insurance?

You say you have cavities - the longer you leave them alone the worse they’re going to get and the greater your risk of infection or abcess. Oral infections have been linked serious systemic infections, including those of the heart which can lead to various forms of damage and even early death. Why are you risking this?

Brushing 10 times a day is not going to fix your cavities.

Mouthwash is not going to fix your cavities.

Go to a dentist before you lose your teeth. That’s why we have dentists - to fix these problems.