Princess P.T. Tech (warning: long. mild.)

I am a Physical Therapist. At work, I supervise and am assisted by a PT Tech. The PT tech is supposed to assist with paperwork, phones, and aspects of patient care. My regular tech is a good worker when she feels like it, but she is a princess with a huge sense of entitlement and a habit of manipulating and whining. She often takes unfair advantage of our desire to have a pleasant workplace. She will complain she is being spoken to rudely or disrespected if I verbally correct her when she does something over the bounds. Earlier this week, she secretly left the clinic to take a personal phone call on her cell phone. She was supposed to be on duty. This had left me in a busy situation, because I did not know she left, and I could hardly leave my patients to go looking for her. Today I told her that I needed to talk with her. The subject of the converstion was : You must notify me before you leave the clinic to take phone calls. Her response was to announce “That call was PERSONAL. It was IMPORTANT” while turning and marching out of the door. ( the ability to pronounce all capitals is a surer sign of royal blood then messing about with mattresses and peas) It seems to me that allowing the discussion to conclude with that staement would mean conceding the point that it was more important for princess tech to leave the premises at will to make personal phone calls, then to expect her to be availible for dumb 'ol patient care during work hours or anything… so I told her to “come back here”. Then I committed a bigger sin. I told her our duty to perform patient care took priority over making personal calls. So now I find that she has gone to my supervisor to complain that I am treating her badly and making unreasonable demands, and she is threatening to quit. The bitchy little princess is trying to get validiation for this behavior! AUGGGH!

And this is a bad thing? Sounds like you’d be well rid of her.