Programming question - why doesn't malware override muted volume control?

I’m a programmer and have done some low-level Windows API and Linux stuff, but never any driver development so this question has me flummoxed.

Since malware seems to not care how obnoxious it has to be to get your attention, why haven’t there been exploits that talk directly to the sound hardware, overriding any “mute” settings in the OS? Imagine…you’re working happily away, having muted your speakers using, say, the Windows volume control, when some stealthy malware process causes your speakers to yell “visit barely legal goats dot com” or some such.

I’ve tried googling for things like “override volume control” but the hits aren’t useful.

Is there a simple reason why it’s not possible to talk directly to the sound hardware? I have a vague notion of Intel “rings” and I know about kernel mode vs. user mode, but I’d have though that especially on Windows, where most users log on routinely as admin, that wouldn’t be an insurmountable obstacle.

Youre giving malware writers too much credit here. I dont think a lot of them are going to embed a root kit or a custom device driver to get your attention.

Also, most malware likes to stay quiet so you dont suspect youre part of a botnet. I also imagine there’s a line that shouldnt be crossed. If you have your speakers yelling at you then youre going to shut off the computer and take it in. If you have nag boxes asking you for your credit card or making you do captchas, then you might not.

As long as the malware runs with the user’s permissions (or better) I don’t think there’s anything standing in the way of the program just setting the volume to max and playing whatever it wants. At least not on linux, and I think that’s true on Windows too (though on Linux it’s possible to have users that don’t have permissions to access (parts of) the sound API at all, the actual users probably have those permissions, for obvious reasons).