Projects with Raspberry Pi, Arduino, etc.

Given that there’s lots of people with a STEM/techie bent on here, I think that there are probably some among you who’ve realized some interesting projects using the various cheap single-board computers, like Raspberry Pi in its various iterations, Arduino, and so on. If so, I’d like for this thread to be a place to share and discuss them, as well as give advice to others interested in getting started/pursuing their own projects.

Me, I’m a relative newbie when it comes to this sort of thing. The first (and so far, only) project of mine was building a to-do planner, based on this video. It’s a Waveshare 7.5 inch two-color e-ink display in a cheap Ikea frame, in which also a Pi Zero W is mounted. The Pi runs a python script that queries my google calendar, my todoist account, openweathermap.org for weather data and the local transport company for departure data at the nearest station. On the left pane, the date and the next five calendar entries are displayed, the right pane shows the next to-dos, and the weather- and departure-data in the footer. See here for the front view, and here for how the Pi (with the Waveshare-HAT) is set in the back. It checks for update to the to-do data and the calendar every five minutes, updates if there’s new stuff, and does a general update (screen refresh with new data) every fifteen.