Pronounciation of "Buddha"

As an Indian I grew up pronouncing “Buddha” (as well as “Hindu”) with a soft “d” (like “the”). However, recently I’ve gotten into arguments with everyone. I was told that pronouncing it my way was like pronouncing Spain “espan-ya.” But I say it’s more like saying “torti-la” instead of “torti-ya.” So, any Buddhologists out there, what is the correct pronounciation?

Moderator’s Note: Granted, I’m no expert on Buddhism, so for all I know this is a subject of fierce theological debates, but as far as I can tell this question should be reasonably susceptible to factual answers, so off it goes to General Questions.

I’ve never heard it pronounced any other way than “Boo-duh”.

If ‘Espania’ was the name that the people gave their own country, then ‘Spain’ is another language’s word for that country. Similarly, English speakers say ‘Germany’, while the French call it ‘Allemande’, but the people from Germany/Allemande call it Deutschland.

You could say that one way of pronouncing ‘Buddha’ belongs to one language, while a different way belongs to another language, in which case both are correct in their respective languages. Or, you could say that whichever pronunciation is older and closer to the part of the world where Buddha came from is correct, and the other way is a foreign mangling of the name.

In either case, don’t see how anyone could call your pronunciation ‘wrong’, since it comes from India and many people pronounce it that way there.

They didn’t actually call it wrong. They said it was like pronouncing Spain, “Espana”.

There’s a perfectly good English word which serves, in English, as the name for the country which lies between France and Portugal, and using the Spanish word when speaking English would be regarded as something of an affectation.