PSA: To those who cut their own hair

I’ve been buzz-cutting my own hair for a few years now. #3 comb over the whole head. I think I mostly do a good job of it. The hardest part is getting a decent line on the neck. Some guys will use their clippers for this, I use a razor blade after I cut my hair. A handheld mirror is an absolute requirement for this task. It takes a bit of practice either way, but it’s not an insurmountable task. After a few cuts, you get the hang of it.

If you’re going to cut your own hair, there are some important things to know. First of all, don’t try to do this with a cheap tool. I use an Oster clipper, Wahl makes professional quality clippers too. You’re going to save some money on haircuts in the long run, so don’t buy cheap clippers. You should be really suspicious of anything under fifty bucks. Also, as mentioned above, the hardest part is shaping your cut. A second pair of hands is great for this, but some of us are single and asking a friend or casual acquaintance for hair cutting assistance can be awkward.

The thing I really want to talk about, the PSA of this thread, is a warning to anyone who participates in the cutting of their own hair. Above I talked about the neck line. The neck line is literally and metaphorically fuzzy. When a man goes to a barber for a scissors cut, the barber still pulls out the clippers to buzz the fuzz off the neck at the end. Fine and good.

However, there is another hair line. The main hair line. The natural hair line on your forehead, which has no fuzzy border. I am here to tell you that you should not, under any circumstances, fuck with your hair line. It’s natural to have points on your hair line, below the top of your hairline that point in, towards the center of your face. This is perfectly normal. Not everyone has it, but it’s normal.