PsyD/PhD.

I’m wondering if there are any PsyD’s or PhD.'s in Psych out there in the Doper world. I know the differences between the degrees, and what each entails, but I’m still having some reservations about which one would be the best fit for my goals.

I’m in my junior year of college and am looking at grad schools. I want to ultimately be a clinical practitioner specalizing in adolescent/family therapy. I am interested in research and therefore am leaning towards a PhD., though I have no interest in an academic career. I wouldn’t mind also doing research after grad school, but primarily want to do clinical work. I’m a non-traditional undergrad student of 27, so I want to make sure that the program I choose for graduate school is what will most fit my goals. I don’t want to prolong my education even more by finding that I should have gone with the PsyD instead.

If anyone has persued one of these degrees what did you like about the program you enrolled in? What didn’t you like? What would you have wished you had knew before entering grad school? And of coarse any other information you think may help me figure out the most appropriate path.

Thanks!

You must be my double. I could have written this post almost word-for-word, except that I’m 28.

I’ve come down on the side of getting a Ph.D in clinical psych, but I’m only looking at schools that have middle-of-the-road position on the practice v. research orientation issue.

I don’t think there’s anything you can do with a Psy.D that you can’t do with a Ph.D, but it’s not always true the other way around.

If you want to do clinical work, I highly suggest a Psyd. I initially was ina PhD program, but transferred because I wanted more emphasis on the work rather than the research. I’m glad every day that I did it.

My advice would be the following: