Published Authors! How did you put up with the rejection slips?

How many rejection slips did you get before you published your first short story or book? How did you put up with it without getting discouraged?

I’m a frustrated writer and have begun to amass a pile of rejection slips from publishers of the genre of stories that I write. One editor even told me that they are so piled up with scripts, that they take only the best. It seems that since word processing has become a mainstay of computers, everyone and his brother is now a writer and trying to get published!

Should I get an agent? How much does one cost? Are they worth it? Should I just keep plugging along? I’ve gotten friendly encouragement, like editors wanting to see more of my work and some critiquing my MS, but that is as far as I have gotten.

HELP wanted please! All of these rejection slips make it hard to keep on writing.

My first book was a travel guide to China, and I went through only a couple of publishers before getting accepted. But that was a specialty market with only a few players and not many books.

I now write a lot for ibank related trade publications, but again that is a specialty. I know some of the editors personally, and then picked up more from word of mouth.

Curious what other people think of this idea but have you ever thought about self publishing? It doesn’t cost that much to print up your own novel, and you will probably get more people to look at your work if you show a copy of your first novel.

It’s a matter of attitude. Very early on, I set up a goal: I planned to get 100 rejection slips. If I didn’t sell by then, I’d go for a thousand. Each rejection slip brings you nearer to your first sale. Mine came after about a year and a half and 30 rejections.