Hi, I'm a depressed writer who is NOT publishing a book

I’m depressed. Today rejection letters started going out for the Wizards of the Coast open call for their Maiden of Pain novel. Since it’s unlikely they started sending rejection letters before they confirmed with the author that he or she was going to do the book, and I’m not seeing any voice mail messages on my machine, I expect my own rejection letter within a day or two. This sucks.

I’ve also been trying to get more reviewing work, and one of the magazines has already said they didn’t have any more freelancer budget available. (One said they haven’t yet looked at my links but will soon).

I’m not giving up, of course. I want this too bad to do that. But I sure want to crawl in a corner and cry.

Maybe because I have had books published that I know how you feel. For every book I got published, there’s one that no one wanted to touch with a ten-foot pole. And I got scores of rejection letters before I got my first book off the ground. I still have them somewhere, I don’t know why–letters from publishers and agents telling me, yeah, honey, keep yer day job.

It does suck. I can tell you as much about the books I didn’t get published as the ones I did. Just keep selling and selling and selling yourself.

Or, you could publish through a vanity house. Not that I have mind you, but still.

I’m going to start the fun cycle of rejection and pain next week.

I can’t wait.

I’m feeling better now that I’ve exercised. I went ahead and sent a query to another magazine for reviewing work. Worse that happens is that they say no thanks. This gives me time to work up a query for a roleplaying publisher. If they decide they like it, it’d probably take me six months to complete the project.

Eternal optimist.

Eve, knowing what a great writer you are, it just goes to show you that editors can sometimes be blind.

buttonjockey308, repeat after me: The money flows to the writer, not the other way around. :slight_smile: