Punctuation and Capitalization of Dialogue Tags

I’ve been helping copyedit on an amateur fiction site. I’m not a professional copyeditor, but I think I have a pretty good grasp of English grammar, punctuation, and capitalization.

I keep encountering writers who do things like this (most common):

“This is what I’m saying.” She said.

or this, also pretty common:

“I’m talking to you here,” She said.

or this (rare, but included for completeness):

“Someone needs to teach me grammar.” she said.

What I was taught in school, and every grammar help site that I’ve checked, says none of the above is correct, and THIS is the right way to do it:

“This sentence is correct,” she said.

I’m getting some obstinacy from some of the people I’m helping; they insist what they’re doing is valid. But so far, none of them can find any online cites to back them up. Where might they have learned such bad habits in the first place? Are any of those first three forms considered correct in some bizarro land? Was it ever considered correct at one time, but has since been supplanted?

I’ve also checked for UK/US differences, and so far, I seem to be correct on both sides of the Atlantic.

*** Ponder

Your corrected example–comma, uncapitalized–is correct.

Now you know what a pain copyedited writers can be. And to answer your other questions, none of the wrong examples–your first three–has ever been correct, to my knowledge. Where might they have picked them up? Laziness and apathy.

You’re correct – speech tags are not capitalized as though they were a sentence (unless the word is a proper noun like “Joe said.”)

Yep, that’s right. Dealing with obstinate writers is why copy editors drink, you know. So get yourself a bottle of booze and start having a drink whenever you copy edit. Just one, mind you. If it’s more than one, you’ll tell them what you really think. And if it’s red wine, it’s actually good for you.