Pursuing degree in MIS: Advice sought

I’m at a point where I would appreciate some advice from some intelligent, savvy types so I turn to you Dopers for some help. As you can tell from the title I’m in the process of deciding whether I want to continue my education and pursue a degree in MIS. A little background first, though.

I started working right out of high school, and was promoted to retail store manager at the age of 19. I’ve been in management ever since. I’ve worked full time ever since as well, so traditional on-campus education is not something I can afford. I completed my A.A. online with a concentration in eCommerce. I have four years of work experience in the political/governmental/legislative field mostly at a department/office manager level.

I’m beginning to tire of being thought of as simply a glorified administrative assistant or secretary, and yearn to get into something more technical, hence my interest in MIS. I’ve found a private college that offers the program online, and the schedule is very convenient. However, my only reservation is that the tuition is a bit steep.

I’ve looked into statistics from the U.S. Dept of Labor that say growth in that area looks positive, but I wanted to know what the market is really like. I’m trying to decide whether the cost of the courses will be justified by a later increase in salary. So, those of you already working in MIS related fields, what has your experience been over the past few years? Where do you think things are headed?

Also, considering my background, what kind of jobs can I expect to look for once I have my degree? I’ve got a strong management background already, but I’m not sure how I will make the transition once I have my degree, with no direct experience in technical fields. Should I start looking for a ‘cross-over’ job that will give me some more hands-on experience while I earn my degree, even if I have to take a pay cut in the interim?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.