Q for British people: "at the weekend"?

Do you actually use this phrase? It was in one of my textbooks (I’m an English teacher, and my books use British English), and I’m baffled. I don’t think I have ever heard/read this.

Yes. It had never occurred to me that it might be peculiarly British until you asked the question, but a quickle Google shows that it is. I have never said “on the weekend”, assuming that is what you would say.

Of course we do. The weekend means Saturday and Sunday. Most people work Mon-Fri, so Sat and Sun are the weekend.

I’m Australian, and I’d only say it at the weekend. During the week, I prefer not to think about those things.

I’m aware of what the weekend is. It sounds weird to an American to say “at the” instead of “on the”, though.

Anyway, SUPER. I know I’m going to screw this up and confuse the kids. And prepositions are already going to be a major pain in the ass. (Bulgarian prepositions are wildly different from those in English.)

It can mean both the forthcoming or previous weekend…‘What did you do at the weekend?’I’m going to visit the parents at the weekend’.

I suppose there’s no real consistency…we do things on a bank holiday, but in the summer holidays, and at any ordinary weekend, but during Easter Weekend. Have fun :wink:

We might also talk about going getting something done over the weekend, but I’d also never say “on the weekend”. It sounds horribly unnatural to my ears.

This to me sounds like something that takes up the whole two days:

“I might have a barbeque at the weekend”

“I’ll be decorating the spare bedroom over the weekend”

Precisely. But still never “on” the weekend.

No, agreed, this is about the only option that just sounds wrong :slight_smile:

Does anyone but the British use week to mean the day in the next week, e.g. “Friday week”, meaning not this coming Friday but the next one?