QtM and Other Medical Dopers, Some Qs

If you’re sitting there with your friends, for say, a “night on the town” and one of them casually mentions that they’re taking a new medication which has really made a big difference in their life, do you immediately begin spouting the information on the warning label of the drug to them? Or do you say something like, “That’s nice. I’ll have a Jaeger.”?

Depends. Some friends I’d make sure they knew the risks, then keep my mouth shut. Others I’d just keep my mouth shut.

Depends on the friend and the degree of risk.

I’m a nurse. Most of my friends are nurses and our boundries with each other are pretty skimpy. If I were to casually mention I was taking a new medication, the questions would instantly ensue, someone might run out to their car to get their drug book, a bottle of said meds would be demanded for immediate examination, cell phones would appear to call pharmacy/MD SOs and every clinical study anyone read about would hold forth then and there. Why was I taking it? What are my symptoms? Is this the first drug I’ve tried for it? And they’d all want a follow-up report in 2 weeks. I’d consider myself lucky if they just spouted the warnings/adverse effects.
No wonder we don’t have any normal friends. Nobody else can stand us.
Cyn, OB/GYN RN

I’ve often wondered if doctors can just leave the white coat at the office, so to speak. If you’re out and about and see someone with something obvious, do you automatically (to yourself) diagnose, wonder if they’re being treated, etc. , or do you just not notice people’s health when you’re off the clock?

StG