What happened? I can’t get the comments to come up. Nothing on the interwebs. I can’t hear the audio. So what rule was violated and why did it end the game?
He hit out of turn.
Before the frame starts, the players establish an order of play. In this case:- Robertson, Borg, Dunham, Bezzina, Robertson, etc.
In the case of a respot:
“When a frame ends in a tie Section 3 Rule 4 applies. If a re-spotted Black is necessary the pair who play the first stroke have the choice of which player will make that stroke. The order of play must then continue as in the frame.”
As Borg took the first stroke of the re-spotted Black, Dunham should have followed afterwards. The confusion came about because Dunham took the last stroke for Australia before the re-spot.
So if a snooker game ends in a tie, the black is respotted? I guess I’m missing what happened before the video.
Yes, that’s correct. In addition, in the case of a respotted black (or at the end of a frame, if the scores are level before the final black is potted), a foul means the frame goes to the opponent. I assume this joins the dots of what happened here - Australia fouled by having the wrong player hit the cue ball, which caused loss of frame for that reason (or perhaps playing out of turn is loss of frame in its own right).