Question for obsessive compulsive Dopers

I have just seen the movie Matchstick Men in which Nic Cage’s character is obsessive compulsive. The presentation of his traits in the movie is very well done but…

As a psychiatric nurse I cared for a very few obsessive compulsive patients. They were at the worst end of things, totally unable to function and requiring hospitalisation. Behaviours ranged from washing hands 10 times an hour to taking an hour to go through a doorway. I have had a few friends who to varying degrees you could class as obsessive or maybe anal. They are prissy and cleaner than the rest of us and worry about cleanliness and hygene.

Now none of these people smoked or even tolerated others smoking very much. Cage’s character virtually chain smokes and I can’t for the life of me associate that with obsessive behaviour, I used to smoke and it’s an inherently messy habit.

Does anyone know either by fact or anecdote whether smoking is a common activity for obsessive compulsive individuals? I know I’ll get the correct answer here so thanks in advance.

This is towards the far end of the anecode spectrum, but in David Sedaris’ book of short autobiographical-ish essays, Naked he tells several stories from his childhood involving obsessive-compulsive behavior and how becoming a smoker eased his compulsions. Obviously he doesn’t go into the psychiatric details of it, but, IIRC, he mentions that it gave him something to do with his hands, and that he felt as if the nicotine relaxed him.

I’m mildly obsessive-compulsive myself, and am a smoker. I find myself having near-zero O-C thoughts or mannerisms when smoking. I may just have exceptionally little brainpower and the mechanics of smoking a cigarette stretch my tolerance, though.

don’t ask - your post has made me realise something I had never recognised before … I’m obsessive compulsive about smoking!