Question for parents who allow kids to sleep with them.

I don’t and will never have kids. I did not sleep with my mother when I was a kid. My question for parents who co-sleep: what do you do for a sex life? Just move the kid over and have at it? Or do without sex until your child decides to sleep in their own bed?

I have no experience with this at all, and am nowhere near having kids or a spouse, but I’m guessing you find time during the day, if it’s a priority.

I was not a co-sleeper but I have friends who were and the answer seems to be, locations other than the bed, after the kids went to sleep. Some had future kids rooms already furnished with beds, others were more creative.

The people who I have talked with who do this have told me that they will sometimes use the guest bedroom when the kid is already asleep in their room. Also they point out that at night, in bed is not the only time or place to have sex.

Easy for me - I was a single parent. But I think that, when she was very young and I was breastfeeding, I would have prioritised not having to get out of bed to feed her over having to get out of bed to have sex.

We did it on the floor. Or the chair. A few times on the washer in the kitchen. The shower, except that was usually just the starting off spot.

But for six months now, nowhere.

Also, for some of us it’s not a matter of “allowing” but not having enough space for another bed. There was only the one room. We had a mattress we kept under the bed we’d pull out sometimes but mostly it was such a hassle to move furniture around to get it out we’d all crash together on the bed.

When the kiddos were babies, we put him in the bassinet next to the bed. As they grew older, they weren’t in bed with us every night, and they generally didn’t start out in bed but came in during the night.
Frankly, sex wasn’t happen much when we had babies and toddlers.